Casper, PREview or neither? What US medical schools require for 2027 entry
Which US MD and DO schools ask for Casper or the AAMC PREview exam for 2027 entry, checked against the AAMC, Acuity Insights and each school’s admissions page.
Key facts
- Rush Medical College no longer requires or recommends Casper for students starting in fall 2027.
- The AAMC sorts PREview schools for the 2027 application year into four groups: requiring it, recommending it, requiring a situational judgment test that PREview satisfies, and exploring it.
- US MD and DO applicants take the same Casper test type as last cycle, even though Acuity renamed other test types for 2026–27.
- PREview has 186 questions, takes up to 75 minutes, and is scored from 1 to 9.
On this page
US medical schools use two different situational judgment tests: Casper, from Acuity Insights, and PREview, from the AAMC. Many schools use neither. Here is how to tell which ones your list needs for 2027 entry.
The latest change
Rush Medical College dropped Casper. Its admissions page says: “For students applying to matriculate at Rush in Fall 2027, the Casper exam is no longer required or recommended for admission.”1
How the AAMC groups PREview schools
The AAMC keeps an official list of “participating schools for the 2026 PREview testing year (2027 medical school application year),” last updated June 12, 2026.2 Each school is in one of four groups:
- Requiring PREview. You can submit your application, but the school may not consider it complete until it has your score.
- Recommending PREview. You can apply with or without a score.
- Requiring a situational judgment test, which PREview satisfies. These schools want an SJT score, and PREview counts.
- Exploring PREview for future use. These schools may look at scores but won’t use them to make admission decisions this cycle.3
Use the filter on the AAMC page to see which schools are in each group.2
What PREview looks like
PREview has 186 questions built on short, text-based scenarios.4 You rate how effective each response is on a 4-point scale, from very ineffective to very effective. The exam takes up to 75 minutes,3 and scores are reported from 1 to 9.5 The AAMC says more than half of all medical school applicants now take it, even when they apply to schools that don’t require it.5
For 2026, PREview was offered from April through October, with score reports about 30 days after each testing window.6
Casper for US medical schools
Acuity renamed several Casper test types for 2026–27, but not the one for US MD and DO programs. For those, Acuity says: “Your test type has not changed for the 26/27 cycle.”7
Schools in Sandbox Atlas
These tables list the US programs in Sandbox Atlas whose admissions pages state a Casper or PREview requirement. “Not stated” means the school’s pages don’t say either way. “Not required” can include schools that recommend PREview, so check the AAMC list for those.
| School | Casper | Verified |
|---|---|---|
| Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine (Arkansas Colleges of Health Education - ACHE)DO, Arkansas | Not stated | |
| Des Moines UniversityDO, Iowa | Not stated | |
| Philadelphia College of Osteopathic MedicineDO, Georgia | Not required | |
| Sam Houston State UniversityDO, Texas | Required | |
| Touro UniversityDO, New York | Required | |
| William Carey UniversityDO, Mississippi | Required |
Questions
Do I need both Casper and PREview?
Only if your list includes schools that require each one. Some schools require a situational judgment test and accept PREview to satisfy it. Check each school’s own admissions page and the AAMC’s PREview list.
When are PREview scores released?
The AAMC releases PREview score reports about 30 days after each testing window.
Does Rush still require Casper?
No. Rush says that for students starting in fall 2027, Casper is no longer required or recommended.
Sources
- Rush University, Rush Medical College. Applying to the Doctor of Medicine (MD) programrushu.rush.edu · Accessed October 2026
- AAMC. Schools participating in the AAMC PREview examstudents-residents.aamc.org · Accessed October 2026
- AAMC. AAMC PREview Essentials, 2026students-residents.aamc.org · Accessed October 2026
- AAMC. AAMC PREview exam test formatstudents-residents.aamc.org · Accessed October 2026
- AAMC. AAMC PREview professional readiness exam: guide for medical schools (June 2026)aamc.org · Accessed October 2026
- AAMC. Register for the AAMC PREview examstudents-residents.aamc.org · Accessed October 2026
- Acuity Insights. How do I find the right Casper test type?intercom.help · Accessed October 2026
